River Hook: the Hester Haring Cason Preserve sits on land that was one of the original six farms comprising what would become the Village of Upper Nyack.
Over time, James L. Smith’s parcel (which nestled up to Hook Mountain on its north side) was subdivided and, in 1934, a portion of the property was purchased by William P. Haring, Jr., Hester’s father. William built a large, gracious brick home over the foundation of an earlier farmhouse. His only child, Hester, grew up on River Hook and lived her life there. For years, it was known by residents as the “sheep farm” to reflect Hester’s beloved flock.
In 2018, the Village of Upper Nyack purchased the 12-acre property, which had fallen into disrepair, thereby ensuring River Hook’s future as a serene, iconic sanctuary for generations to come.
What’s happening now...
Over the last two years, the Village of Upper Nyack engaged with residents and friends at community meetings to explore ideas for potential short- and long-term uses. Clean up and assessment has been the initial focus of the Village's efforts. A native meadow restoration pilot project has been started and a small shrub and tree nursery has been started behind deer fencing near N. Midland.
This Spring, a group of local residents started the non-profit Friends of River Hook, Inc. to support the development of River Hook with private funds.
To be informed about upcoming activities and volunteer opportunities, Click on E-Alerts on the Upper Nyack website Homepage, then check the box for River Hook under News & Announcements.