Welcome to the Village of Upper Nyack

The Village of Upper Nyack is a small, friendly enclave on the Hudson River, nestled between the Village of Nyack and Hook Mountain-Nyack Beach State Park, in the Town of Clarkstown, in Rockland County, New York, about 25 miles north of Manhattan.

The Village of Upper Nyack, population ca. 1,800, was incorporated in 1872. The first settlement in the Village was recorded in 1686. In the late nineteenth century, the Village became known as “Goosetown,” a name that is still used affectionately today.

The Upper Nyack Village Hall is located at 328 North Broadway at the corner of Castle Heights Avenue, next to the fire house, home of Empire Hook and Ladder Co. No. 1, and approximately one block from the Old Stone Meeting House, landmarks owned by the Village.

Residents are welcome to stop by with questions and comments, and are encouraged to attend meetings and public hearings of the Board of Trustees, Planning Board, Zoning Board of Appeals, and Architectural Review Board. It is the participation of the residents of this small community that makes it special.

The Village Board of Trustees and Land Use Boards meet monthly.

All meetings are open to the public: